Prim and proper

Do you ever wear something that makes you feel like you’re playing a part or like you are slightly out of character? As someone who tends to gravitate towards anything black and has a slight obsession with leather, my friends all loved pointing out my new winter look – the turtleneck. I have a brown turtleneck that my dad gave me for Christmas 2 years ago, and I LOVE it. Although when I’m wearing it I feel a bit like a school mom, or like Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine. Prim and proper, which my style is usually not so much. Proper yes, prim no. When I came out of my room in my turtleneck, jeans and a tan basic wool coat my roommate quickly asked, ‘What’s that look? ‘in a smirking ‘Where’d Blair go’ kind of way. I told her it was my TriBeCa mom look. The other day I was out with a friend, and she also asked me about my turtleneck. I told her I almost felt like I had to act a certain way. One must live up to such a grown-up look. Is it an age thing do you think? She said she doesn’t like wearing things around her neck. I understand that completely…except a small note here on my turtleneck is that it’s 100% cashmere and thus, a pillow of warmth.

Some options below:

Carven - wool, $264
Carven – wool, $264
Maison Martin Margiela, $286
Maison Martin Margiela – wool, $286
Equipment, $318
Equipment – cashmere, $318
Joseph - cashmere knit,£310
Joseph – cashmere knit,£310

Turtlenecks are the most comfortable garment you can wear. They move with the body, and they’re flattering too, because they accentuate the face and elongate the figure. They make life so easy: you can wear a turtleneck to work and then afterwards throw on a jacket, and it becomes very dressy. You can go anywhere you like.

-Halston

I mean they do say great minds think alike – yes? 

Would you ever wear a turtleneck? Any out-of-character clothing confessions?

Images via: Carven, MMM, Equipment, Josephquote via here

Leave a Reply

