Are you a manic pixie dream girl?

One of my favorite podcasts is Modern Love. I enjoy the stories because they are real and so unique. Sometimes they appear to be so simple but pack a big meaning.

If you haven’t listened to Modern Love, I would suggest you do so! People submit their love stories of ‘love, loss and redemption,’ and the Modern Love producers pick the stories and celebrities read them. If you are a Girl’s fan, there’s an episode when one ofHannah’s essays is chosen. It’s a big deal, and I’m always asking myself if I have story to tell, but can’t put my finger on the right one. Plus, I think a lot of writers apply – so it’s tough competition.

ANYWAYS – back to the main topic. One of the recent posts was about how this guy dated this woman he called a manic pixie dream girl [MPDG]. He said that a MPDG was similar to say Natalie Portman in Garden State. Someone who is a little mysterious, cool, free-spirited and often someone who needs saving.

I loved this episode because a part of me wants to be seen as a MPDG – not the I need saving part, but the manic pixie part is appealing. In my mind she’s also a little artsy, aloof in her own world, yet when she connects with someone, she’s all in. (Until she’s not – listen to the episode).

Are you a MPDG or can you relate? Do you know any? I’m so curious.

Listen to the episode HERE.

img_8494.jpg
Just another day with my manic pixie partner in crime.

PS – I only googled the term after writing this and WOW, I’m behind the times. MPDG is a big deal. According to Urban Dictionary:

A Manic Pixie Dream Girl or MPDG, is a term coined by film critic Nathan Rabin after seeing Elizabethtown. It refers to “that bubbly, shallow cinematic creature that exists solely in the fevered imaginations of sensitive writer-directors to teach broodingly soulful young men to embrace life and its infinite mysteries and adventures.” A pretty, outgoing, whacky female romantic lead whose sole purpose is to help broody male characters lighten up and enjoy their lives.

PSS – This movie coming out soon looks like a calm pixie dream girl situation is upon us.

xxB

Urban dictionary definition here.
Leave a Reply

